Two rhinos at a watering hole, pictured on one of Buddy Eleazer's trips to southern Africa.

Olympus OM-D E-M1X with M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm F2.8 PRO
ISO 4000 | 1/160sec | F2.8
Recently, we spoke to award-winning photographer and Olympus shooter Buddy Eleazer about his work, what inspires him, and what he needs from his camera gear when shooting wildlife on African safaris.

How long have you been a working photographer?

I was an active hobby photographer in the 70’s, but got back into photography seriously in 2003 with the advent of digital cameras.
What camera equipment do you currently shoot with?

Right now I'm shooting with two OM-D E-M1X bodies, an M.Zuiko Digital ED 300mm F4 IS PRO, both the M.Zuiko MC-20 1.4x and M.Zuiko MC-20 2.0x teleconverters, and my workhorse lens which is the M.Zuiko Digital ED 40-150mm F2.8 PRO, with some other 'PRO' series lenses. Especially the M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm F2.8 PRO and the M.Zuiko Digital ED 7-14mm F2.8 PRO.
When I'm close to the wildlife, the 40-150mm is perfect. When I'm further away I use the 300mm.

What drew you to the OM-D system?

I'm a fairly recent convert to Olympus - I used to be a ‘full frame guy’. I still love that gear, but there are some definite advantages to the OM-D system. Shooting full frame cameras with prime and zoom telephoto lenses created two problems: a) getting my gear onto flights to and within Africa – especially the smaller planes we fly into the lodges such as the Bombardier Dash 8 and Cessna 203 Caravan prop planes, and b) after a few weeks on safari, my right elbow and both shoulders took weeks to lose the soreness from lifting those big lenses.
I’ve been shooting with Olympus since early 2018. That doesn’t sound like a long time, but with nature photography and leading trips to Africa, that’s over 59,000 images ago.

Behind the picture: Leopard attack

A herd of wildebeest stampeding in the midst of a leopard attack.

Olympus OM-D E-M1X with M.Zuiko Digital ED 40-150mm F2.8 PRO